Design House

FPGA Development

El Camino was established in 1999 by former long-term employees of Altera. The name of the current Altera development environment, Quartus, goes back to a suggestion from one of the founders of El Camino.

As an Intel Design Solutions Network (DSN) Platinum Partner and with know-how gained through many years of first-hand experience, El Camino offers all services in the area of programmable logic.

By using modern tools, such as Platform Designer or DSP Builder from Intel, the client receives a very well-structured project. The use of standard blocks or interfaces and their combination with modules developed specifically for the client result in transparent systems that are easily handed over, and can easily be maintained by the client.
FPGA projects can be either turnkey projects or be executed in close cooperation. The latter, in particular, results in efficient development of know-how on the client side and enables clients to manage their own future projects, even those that are challenging or large.

For FPGA development, our services include the following:

  • Design, implementation, verification, and documentation
  • Implementation with Platform Designer, DSP Builder in VHDL, Verilog, AHDL, or Schematic
  • From partial design to turnkey according to your specifications or our suggestions
  • Conversion of discontinued ASICs and ASSPs
  • Optimization of existing designs
  • Layout and production of prototypes, functional models, and evaluation systems
  • Production and testing of small series production
  • Management and support for large series production

Electronics Development

From the idea to the production-ready product, from small PLDs to complex systems, El Camino offers a comprehensive spectrum of services. We use a wide palette of the latest technologies and develop custom-tailored hardware and software solutions for our clients. In particular, our experience with very demanding applications like multi-gigabit transceivers, memory interfaces of the highest band width, or high resolution AD/DA converters enables us to achieve the best possible results.

Quality, performance, power consumption, production and development costs, availability, and precision are only a few of the many parameters that have to be coordinated during development. Our project managers and developers listen to your wishes during planning and implementation, and with their extensive know-how they can suggest various possible solutions. Last but not least, we guarantee a consistently optimal result, coordinated with the respective requirements.

The services we offer include the following:

  • Planning
  • Development
  • Layout
  • Test design
  • Prototype manufacturing
  • EMC testing and optimization
  • Production and testing for small series production
  • Management and support for large series production

Layout

Layout services have been a part of the spectrum at El Camino since its inception. With our own production line, activities in the area of EMI suppression and our own circuit design, valuable practical experience can be consistently incorporated into the layout. Even modern FPGAs with up to 56 Gbps transceivers, 1333 MHz DDR4-SDRAM interfaces, analogue PLLs and more than 1000 I/Os place great demands on the layout. Only a systematic approach, supported with simulations and experience can lead to high quality, cost-efficient PCBs that are optimized for production.

For layout of systems, our services include the following:

  • Multilayer (up to 20 layers implemented many times, up to 30 is possible)
  • Rigid Flex Circuits (RFC)
  • Micro Via technology
  • HDIS (High-Density Interconnection Structures)
  • Impedance controlled design
  • Routing adjusted to signal propagation delays

EMC

Compliance with pertinent EMC guidelines is an important factor today in the development of electronic components and systems. By using our EMC measuring laboratory, we can incorporate valuable experience into our designs from the start, and have the option of performing various test measurements at any time. Furthermore, our production and SMD rework capacities allow for the immediate implementation of  modifications and their evaluation based on comparative measurements.

In the area of EMC, our services include the following:

  • EMC anechoic test chamber
  • Stray radiation (field and lead bound)
  • Interference immunity (field and lead bound)
    • Burst
    • Network variation
    • Flicker/harmonics
    • ESD measuring station

The following tests can be performed:

Emission from power grid AC wiring
Emission radiated from housing, 3m measurement distance
HF interference, unsymmetrical
Fast transients (burst)
HF fields
ESD
Voltage drop, interruption
Harmonics
Flicker
 

Manufacturing

For fast and flexible production of prototypes and small-scale series production, El Camino has own production capacities. Component procurement can be started at the same time as circuit diagram input. Furthermore, the production of printed circuit boards in express service with the installation of the SMD machines can be coordinated with preparations for production.

The following services are among those available for the manufacturing of prototypes and small-scale series production:

  • Screen printer
  • Automatic dispenser system
  • SMD pick and place machine up to 0.3 mm fine pitch or type 0201
  • Infrared rework station
  • BGA reballing
  • Drying cabinet
  • Vapour-Phase soldering system

Design House

Unsere Leistungen im Überblick:
FPGA EntwicklungElektronikentwicklungLayout | EMVFertigung

FPGA Entwicklung

Die Firma El Camino wurde 1999 von ehemaligen und langjährigen Mitarbeitern der Firma Altera gegründet. Der Name der aktuellen Altera Entwicklungsumgebung Quartus geht zurück auf den Vorschlag eines der Gründer von El Camino.

Als Design Service Network (DSN) Partner von Intel und mit einem, über viele Jahre und aus erster Hand gewachsenem Know-How bietet El Camino sämtliche Dienstleistungen rund um programmierbare Logik an.

Durch den Einsatz moderner Werkzeuge, wie z.B. Platform Designer oder DSP Builder von Intel erhält der Kunde ein ausgezeichnet strukturiertes Projekt. Die Verwendung von Standardblöcken bzw. –Schnittstellen und deren Kombination mit kundenspezifisch entwickelten Modulen führt zu einem transparenten Gesamtsystem, das sehr leicht übergeben und vom Kunden weiter gepflegt werden kann.

FPGA Projekte können als Turnkey Projekte oder in enger Zusammenarbeit ausgeführt werden. Gerade letzteres ermöglicht einen effizienten Aufbau von Know-How auf Kundenseite und erlaubt es auch anspruchsvolle oder große Projekte zukünftig in Eigenregie umzusetzen.

Bei der FPGA Entwicklung bieten wir unter anderem:

  • Entwurf, Implementierung, Verifikation und Dokumentation
  • Implementierung mit Platform Designer, DSP Builder in VHDL, Verilog oder auf Wunsch auch noch AHDL oder Schematic
  • Von Teildesign bis Turnkey nach Ihrer Spezifikation oder unseren Vorschlägen
  • Nachbau abgekündigter ASICs und ASSPs
  • Optimierung bestehender Designs
  • Layout und Fertigung von Prototypen, Funktionsmustern und Evaluierungs-Systemen
  • Fertigung und Test kleiner Serien
  • Überführung und Betreuung von Großserien

Elektronikentwicklung

Von der Idee bis zum serienreifen Produkt, vom kleinen PLD bis hin zum komplexen System bietet El Camino ein umfangreiches Spektrum von Dienstleistungen an. Wir nutzen dabei eine breite Palette modernster Technologien und entwickeln für unsere Kunden maßgeschneiderte Hard- und Softwarelösungen. Speziell die Erfahrung mit sehr anspruchsvollen Anwendungen wie Multi-Gigabit Transceivern, Speicherschnittstellen höchster Bandbreite oder hochauflösender AD/DA Wandler ermöglicht es uns, stets beste Ergebnisse zu erzielen.

Qualität, Performance, Stromverbrauch, Fertigungs- und Entwicklungskosten, Verfügbarkeit, Genauigkeit sind nur einige von vielen Parametern, die es bei einer Entwicklung aufeinander abzustimmen gilt. Unsere Projektleiter und Entwickler orientieren sich bei der Planung und Umsetzung eng an Ihren Wünschen und können durch ihr umfangreiches Know-How die verschiedensten Lösungsansätze aufzeigen. Nicht zuletzt hierdurch gewährleisten wir ein stets optimales und auf die jeweiligen Anforderungen bestens abgestimmtes Ergebnis.

Zu unseren Dienstleistungen gehören unter anderem:

  • Planung
  • Entwicklung
  • Layout
  • Prüfentwicklung
  • Prototypenfertigung
  • EMV Test und Optimierung
  • Fertigung und Test kleiner Serien
  • Überführung und Begleitung von Großserien

Layout

Layout Dienstleistungen sind seit Firmengründung Teil des Spektrums von El Camino. Durch die eigene Fertigungslinie, die Tätigkeit im Bereich der EMV Entstörung und den eigenen Schaltungsentwurf konnten stets wertvolle praktische Erfahrungen in das Layout mit einfließen.

Gerade moderne FPGAs mit bis zu 56-Gigabit/s schnellen Transceivern, 1333 MHz DDR4-SDRAM Schnittstellen, analogen PLLs und weit über 1000 I/Os stellen hohe Anforderungen an das Layout. Nur ein systematisches Vorgehen, untermauert durch Simulationen und viel Erfahrung führen hier zu qualitativ hochwertigen, kosteneffizienten und für die Fertigung optimierten PCBs.

Beim Layout bieten wir unter anderem:

  • Multilayer (bis 20 Lagen vielfach umgesetzt, bis 30 möglich)
  • Starr-Flex Technologie
  • Micro Via Technologie
  • HDIS (High-Density Interconnection Structures)
  • Impedanzkontrolliertes Design
  • Signallaufzeiten angepasstes Routing

EMV

Die Einhaltung einschlägiger EMV Richtlinien ist heute ein wichtiger Faktor bei der Entwicklung von elektronischen Komponenten und Systemen. Aufgrund unseres EMV Meßlabors können wir wertvolle Erfahrungen von Anfang an in unsere Entwicklungen einfließen lassen und haben jederzeit die Möglichkeit verschiedenste Testmessungen durchzuführen. Des Weiteren erlauben unsere Fertigungs- und SMD-Rework Kapazitäten die sofortige Umsetzung von Modifikationen und deren Bewertung anhand von Vergleichsmessungen.

Im Bereich EMV bieten wir unter anderem:

  • Vollabsorber Schirmkabine
  • Störstrahlung (feld- und leitungsgebunden)
  • Störfestigkeit (feld- und leitungsgebunden)
    • Burst
    • Netzvariation
    • Flicker/Harmonics
    • ESD-Messplatz

Folgende Prüfungen können durchgeführt werden:

Emission aus Netzleitungen EN60555-2 /3, EN55011
Emission gestrahlt aus Gehäusen EN55022B, EN55011 3m Meßstrecke
Störeinstrahlung HF, unsymmetrisch EN61000-4-06
Schnelle Transienten (Burst) EN61000-4-04
HF-Felder EN61000-4-03
ESD EN61000-4-02
Spannungseinbruch, Unterbrechung EN61000-4-11
Harmonics EN61000-3-2
Flicker EN61000-3-3

Fertigung

Zur schnellen und flexiblen Fertigung von Prototypen und Kleinserien verfügt El Camino über eigene Fertigungskapazitäten. Begleitend zur Schaltplaneingabe kann bereits mit der Bauteilbeschaffung begonnen werden. Darüber hinaus können z.B. die Leiterplattenfertigung im Eilservice mit der Einrichtung des SMD Automaten und der Fertigungsvorbereitung optimal aufeinander abgestimmt werden.

Für die Fertigung von Prototypen und Kleinserien steht unter anderem zur Verfügung:

  • Schablonendrucker
  • Automatisches Dispensersystem
  • SMD Bestückungsautomat bis 0,3 mm Finepitch bzw. Bauform 0201
  • Infrarot Rework Station
  • BGA Reballing
  • Trockenschrank
  • Dampfphasen Lötautomat